December 9, 2024, AERC Board Meeting Minutes

President Nick Kohut DVM called the meeting to order at 8:03 p.m. EST.

Board members present were Olin Balch, DVM, Bruce Burton, Connie Caudill, Diane Connolly, Marci Cunningham, Maureen Fehrs DVM, Susan Garlinghouse DVM, Bridget Helms, Dawn Hilliard, Susan Kasemeyer, Nick Kohut DVM, Mollie Krumlaw-Smith, Bob Marshall DVM, Mike Maul, John Parke, Maribel Paulsen, Naomi Preston, Melissa Ribley, DVM, Regina Rose, Tami Rougeau, Eric Rueter, Khristin Seymore-Norsworthy, Jan Stevens, Vance Stine, and Laurie Underwood. Executive Director Kathleen Henkel, AERC-I Committee Chair Tom Rajala and Protest & Grievance Committee

Chair Diane Rowley were also on the call.

Susan Garlinghouse DVM made a motion to accept the agenda, seconded by Connie Caudill. Motion passed.

Connie Caudill made a motion to excuse Jan Stevens from the November 11, 2024, meeting due to an emergency, and Stephanie Palmer-DuRoss from the December 9, 2024, meeting due to a work conflict. The motion was seconded by Tami Rougeau. Motion passed.

Susan Kasemeyer made a motion to approve the minutes of the November 11, 2024, meeting, which was seconded by Vance Stine. The motion passed with one abstention.

Kathleen Henkel presented the statistical report:

| Membership as of 11/30/2023 | 4,409 |
|-----------------------------------|----------|
| Membership as of 12/03/2024 | 4,266 |
| Sanction fees as of 11/30/2023 | \$12,790 |
| Sanction fees as of 11/30/2024 | \$15,495 |
| Rider fees as of 11/30/2023 | \$61,251 |
| Rider fees as of 11/30/2024 | \$56,745 |
| New members as of 11/30/2023 | 629 |
| New members as of 12/03/2024 | 602 |
| Ride Starts as End of 2023 Season | 11,739 |
| Ride Starts as End of 2024 Season | 11,842 |

Tom Rajala, chair of the AERC International Committee, updated the Board status of committee elections and informed the Board about upcoming FEI co-sanctioned rides.

Protest Filed by Protestor Susie Kramer against Respondent Debi Sanger the March 22, 2024 Old Pueblo Ride.

Tami Rougeau made a motion to enter into Executive Session at 8:10 p.m. in order to discuss the appeal filed by Respondent Debi Sanger of the July 31, 2024, decision by the Protest & Grievance Committee. The motion was seconded by Olin Balch, DVM. Motion passed.

After a thorough discussion by the Board, Bruce Burton made a motion to exit Executive Session at 9:26 p.m. The motion was seconded by Susan Kasemeyer. Motion passed.

Connie Caudill made a motion that the Board accept the decision of the Protest & Grievance Committee and deny the appeal. The motion was seconded by Mollie Krumlaw-Smith. Motion passed.

Naomi Preston made a motion for a roll call vote on the motion of Connie Caudill to accept the decision of the Protest & Grievance Committee and deny the appeal, which was seconded by Regina Rose. Motion for a roll call vote passed.

The Board voted to accept the decision of the Protest & Grievance Committee and deny the appeal, as follows:

Vote in Favor of Denying Appeal Olin Balch DVM Bruce Burton Connie Caudill Diane Connolly Maureen Fehrs DVM Susan Garlinghouse DVM Dawn Hilliard Susan Kasemeyer Mollie Krumlaw-Smith Bob Marshall DVM Mike Maul John Parke Maribel Paulsen Melissa Ribley DVM Tami Rougeau Eric Rueter Khristin Seymore-Norsworthy Jan Stevens Vance Stine Laurie Underwood

<u>Vote in Favor of Granting Appeal</u> Bridget Helms Naomi Preston Regina Rose

John Parke made a motion, which was seconded by Jan Stevens, to adjourn at 9:42 p.m. Motion passed.

Respectfully submitted by Laurie Underwood, on behalf of Connie Caudill, Secretary.