June 10, 2024, AERC Board Meeting Minutes

President Nick Kohut DVM called the meeting to order at 8:05 p.m. EST.

Board members present were Bruce Burton, Connie Caudill, Maureen Fehrs DVM, Bridget Helms, Jan Stevens, Dawn Hilliard, Nick Kohut DVM, Naomi Preston, Regina Rose, Marci Cunningham, John Parke, Susan Kasemeyer, Eric Rueter, Vance Stine, Stephanie Palmer-DuRoss, Maribel Paulson, Tami Rougeau, Olin Balch DVM, Bob Marshall DVM, Mike Maul, Melissa Ribley DVM, Laurie Underwood and Tim Worden. Executive Director Kathleen Henkel, AERC-I Chair Tom Rajala, and Diane Connolly were also in attendance.

Susan Kasemeyer made a motion to accept the agenda which was seconded by Tami Rougeau. Motion passed.

A motion was made by Susan Kasemeyer to approve the May 13, 2024, Board meeting minutes, which was seconded by Maureen Fehrs DVM. Motion passed.

Connie Caudill made a motion which was seconded by John Parke to excuse Khristin Seymore-Norsworthy (traveling), Susan Garlinghouse DVM (employment conflict) and Mollie Krumlaw-Smith (putting up hay).

Kathleen Henkel presented the statistical report:

Membership as of 6/02/2023	3,956
Membership as of 6/04/2024	3,850
Sanction fees as of 6/04/2023	\$12,250
Sanction fees as of 6/04/2024	\$14,625
Rider fees as of 6/04/2023	\$19,507
Rider fees as of 6/04/2024	\$20,415
New members as of 6/02/2023	422
	422
New members as of 6/04/2024	413

Update from the AERC-I Committee

Tom Rajala, Chair of the AERC-I Committee, updated the Board on the AERC International Committee. The selection process is wrapping up. Ten of the selection rides were also AERC sanctioned. The selection rides are 100-mile rides. Each event hosted around ten riders.

The upcoming Northeast Team Challenge, which is AERC sanctioned, has good entry numbers, including three foreign countries represented. The Young Riders are working to qualify for the AERC Young Riders Championship ride to be held during the AERC National Championship ride. The Young Riders Championship ride will be a 75-mile event.

Motion from the Veterinary Committee to Update Rule 13 Appendix A Prohibited Substances to include alpha-casozepine (Zylkene)

Melissa Ribley DVM presented the motion of the Veterinary Committee to include Zylkene (active ingredient being alpha-casozepine), which is marketed as a calming agent for horses. It is therefore prohibited based on Rule 13 Appendix B, Category of Prohibited Substances item 21 which reads:

"21. Substances designed, marketed, and/or administered to affect the behavior of an equine in a calming (tranquilizing) or energizing (stimulating) manner. This is to include herbal and/or natural products."

For clarity the Veterinary Committee recommends adding alpha-casozepine to the Prohibited Substances appendix of the AERC drug rule 13. The addition of the active ingredient in Zylkene will provide guidance to AERC members who are administering this substance to their competing equines.

To be implemented immediately.

Motion from committee passed unanimously.

Ride mileage discussion regarding the Jo Tate Memorial ride – CT Region 5/25/2024 – 5/26/2024 Jodi Hess-Schlup, ride manager for the Jo Tate Memorial ride, contacted the AERC office and advised that the 50-mile distance on Sunday, May 26th had a weather-induced issue. Five riders were entered in the ride and all went out on course with no issues. During the ride, the weather changed and high winds, thunder, lightning and tornadoes affected the trail. One rider finished the 50-mile course and rode into camp. Two other riders chose to rider option and stop their ride. The ride manager went out to bring the remaining two riders back to camp, and the ride was called at the 42-mile mark since there was no way the remaining riders could complete the course due to the serious weather issues. The ride manager would like to give the two riders endurance mileage credit for the miles they were able to complete.

Rides have been called at least two times in the past (Derby Ditch ride in 1999 where a blizzard forced the end of the ride, and Highland Valley in 2023 where severe smoke forced the end of the ride) and both rides received Board approval to give the individuals that were not able to complete the entire course (and did not pull) endurance miles for the miles they were able to ride. Kathleen Henkel would like to ask the programmer to award 42 endurance miles to the Sunday Jo Tate Memorial riders who were still in the ride when it was called. In this case, those riders will also receive 42 division points and 42 overall points. The rider who was able to complete the entire course will receive 50 miles, and 50 division points and 50 overall points.

Bruce Burton made a motion to approve Kathleen Henkel's proposal to allow the two riders who completed 42 miles to receive points and miles completed, and the rider that completed the 50-mile ride to receive completion and points for the 50 miles. The motion was seconded by Susan Kasemeyer. Motion passed unanimously.

Message from Tim Worden

Tim Worden notified the Board that he has returned to school and is in the middle of a career change. He stated that would be focusing on this change and announced that he is resigning as Director at Large (making this will be his last Board meeting). He thanked everyone for the last six years that he served. Tim Worden said he will continue to participate in endurance riding like he has for the past 22 years and in the future may consider serving again on the Board. He went on to say that by vote count, Diane Connolly is the next person in line and that she will serve out his term in this position on the Board. Nick Kohut DVM welcomed Diane Connolly to the Board.

Melissa Ribley DVM asked if the Sponsorship Committee had been selected. Nick Kohut DVM stated that he was still in the process of finding a chairperson for the committee and asked for suggestions from the Board members.

John Parke moved to adjourn at 8:32 p.m., which was seconded by Susan Kasemeyer. Motion passed.

Respectfully submitted by Connie Caudill.