March 11, 2024, AERC Board Meeting Minutes

President Nick Kohut DVM called the meeting to order at 8:05 p.m. EST.

Board members present were Bruce Burton, Khristen Seymore-Norsworthy, Connie Caudill, Maureen Fehrs DVM, Bridget Helms, Jan Stevens, Dawn Hilliard, Nick Kohut DVM, Regina Rose, Marci Cunningham, Susan Kasemeyer, Vance Stine, Maribel Paulson, Susan Garlinghouse DVM, Tami Rougeau, Olin Balch DVM, Mollie Krumlaw-Smith, Bob Marshall DVM, Mike Maul, Melissa Ribley DVM, Eric Rueter, Laurie Underwood and Tim Worden. Executive Director Kathleen Henkel and AERC-I Chair Tom Rajala were also in attendance.

A motion was made by Vance Stine to accept the amended agenda which was seconded by Mollie Krumlaw-Smith. Motion passed.

Susan Garlinghouse DVM made a motion to approve the 2024 convention Board meeting minutes from meetings held on February, 22, 24, and 25, which was seconded by Susan Kasemeyer. Motion passed.

Connie Caudill made a motion to excuse Naomi Preston and Stephanie Palmer DuRoss which was seconded by Vance Stine. Motion passed.

John Parke was absent.

Kathleen Henkel presented the statistical report:

Membership as of 3/8/2023	3060
Membership as of 3/8/2024	3104
Sanction fees as of 3/8/2023	\$10,625
Sanction fees as of 3/8/2024	\$13,485
Rider fees as of 3/8//2023	\$6,292
Rider fees as of 3/8/2024	\$6,117
New members as of 3/8/2023	215
New members as of 3/8/2024	228

2024 Committee Chairs

Nick Kohut DVM nominated Susan Garlinghouse DVM and Naomi Preston to serve as co-chairs of the Education Committee, Jan Stevens to serve as chair of Rules Committee, Mollie Krumlaw-Smith to serve as chair of the Ride Managers Committee, and the current chairs of all other AERC committees to remain in place. Susan Kasemeyer made a motion to accept the nominations which was seconded by Vance Stine seconded. Motion passed unanimously. Nick Kohut DVM suggested the committees review and update their charters if needed and then bring them to the Board for approval.

Update from the AERC-I Committee

Tom Rajala, AERC-I Committee chair, presented an update on the Committee's work. The Committee is currently working on the Young Rider championship rides for 2024 and 2025, participation by members in 100-mile rides and a teams challenge being held in 2024 in the Northeast Region.

Motion from Trails and Land Management Committee Regarding Hillsdale Lake State Park Trail Repairs Dawn Hilliard presented the following motion on behalf of the Trails and Land Management Committee:

The Trails and Land Management Committee moves that AERC, using designated Trails Grants, assist in funding a portion of the Hillsdale Lake State Park Trail Repairs project in the Hillsdale Lake State Park (Paola, Ks). Funds requested: \$3000.00.

This request is coming from Monica Chapman and Saddle Ridge Back Country Horsemen who work with other endurance riders and the State Park Land Managers annually to improve and maintain the trail system. Over the years the equestrian trails have become rutted, culverts have washed out, and consistent boggy sections have reduced the usage of the trails system. This project will improve the trails to dry out more quickly and allow for better drainage. The result will be a sustainable trail that will require little to no maintenance for years to come.

Monica Chapman is an AERC Trailmaster. The group has raised \$2000 in cash donations and all volunteer time needed for the project.

Funding will come from dedicated Trails Grant Fund.

This trail system has hosted endurance rides over the last 25 years. In 2024 there will be two AERC endurance rides. Many AERC members condition their horses at this park. AERC members have performed trail maintenance at this park since its inception in the 1990's. In the last year there was 860 manhours, 210 hours of power equipment, and 101 hours of heavy equipment usage by the Back Country Horsemen and AERC members.

Work to begin once grant is approved and trails dry out.

Motion from committee passed unanimously.

Susan Kasemeyer moved to adjourn at 8:28 p.m., Connie Caudill seconded. Motion passed.

Respectfully submitted by Connie Caudill