## February 23, 2023 AERC Convention Board meeting minutes

President Nick Kohut DVM called the meeting to order at 7:06 p.m. EST

Board members present were Olin Balch DVM, Connie Caudill, Monica Chapman, Jessica Cobbley, Stephanie Palmer-DuRoss, Gunnar Frank, Maureen Fehrs DVM, Susan Garlinghouse DVM, Dawn Hilliard, Susan Kasemeyer, Nick Kohut DVM, Bob Marshall DVM, John Parke, Maribel Paulson, Tami Rougeau, Lisa Schneider, Christoph Schork, Mollie Krumlaw-Smith, Kelly Williams-Stehman, Jan Stevens, Vance Stine, Laurie Underwood, Tim Worden. Incoming Board members Eric Rueter and Melissa Ribley sat in on the meeting. Also present was Executive Director Kathleen Henkel.

Susan Kasemeyer moved to approve the revised agenda, seconded by Lisa Schneider. Motion passed.

Mollie Krumlaw-Smith made a motion to approve the 2/13/2023 Board meeting minutes, seconded by Susan Kasemeyer. Motion passed with one abstention.

Christoph Schork made a motion to excuse Naomi Preston, Bridget Helms and Mike Maul from this meeting and Olin Balch DVM from the 2/13/2023 meeting. Seconded by Susan Kasemeyer. Motion passed.

Kathleen Henkel reviewed the statistical report:

Membership as of 2/11/2022	3113
Membership as of 2/15/2023	2873
Sanction fees as of 2/10/2022	\$9,415
Sanction fees as of 2/10/2023	\$10,135
Rider fees as of 2/10/2022	\$3,561
Rider fees as of 2/10/2023	\$4,281
New members as of 2/11/2022	184
New members as of 2/10/2023	162

Kathleen Henkel gave an update on the progress of hiring a new person in the AERC office. She interviewed two people in the past week, and while she was especially impressed with one of the interviewees, she has a few more to interview before making a final decision. Kyra DeMartini will be helping over the next month.

Kathleen Henkel announced that things were looking good for signing a contract for the 2024 convention at a hotel in Albuquerque, New Mexico. The venue we had planned to use in San Antonio, Texas has closed. She stated that the 2025 convention will be back at The Nugget in Reno, Nevada.

Kathleen Henkel reported that the paperwork for trademarking the logo has been filled out and returned to the attorneys for filing. John Park requested to defer this discussion until the Sunday meeting as he would like to add to the trademarking other items such as the motto, "To Finish is to Win".

Connie Caudill presented a motion from the Sanctioning Committee to approve a first year Pioneer ride in the NW Region – Quesnel Pioneer, to be held in Quesnel British Columbia on August 5, 2023 – August 7, 2023. Heide Krause is the ride manager. Sanctioning Director Jessica Cobbley has given her approval. Motion Passed.

The following Committee Reports were included in the Convention binders.

Elections, Finance (AERC and ALF), Junior/Young Rider/ Membership, National Championship, Protest & Grievance, Sanctioning, Ride Managers, Rules, Technical, Trails and Land Management (including trail advocate reports), Welfare of the Horse and Veterinary.

The Committee chairs that did not have committee reports in the binder gave reports on their committees.

Vance Stine, Chair of the Competitions Committee reported that the committee has been discussing team competitions with AERC-I, middle distances of 40-45 miles and stand-alone LD's. Rule changes would be required for middle distances and stand-alone LD's.

No report from the Research Committee was presented to the Board.

Monica Chapman stated that Board members should take a look at the report submitted by the Trails Committee, as they have been very active. Board members Tami Rougeau and Mollie Krumlaw-Smith have done a lot of trail work. Nancy Sluys applied for and received a \$75,000 grant from American Trails. AERC is a member of American Trails. Money is out there and Monica Chapman stated that members need to team up and work with other trail users in order for our voices to be heard.

Logging our members' trail hours helps AERC to obtain MOU's but data is needed from our members who are doing the work. She urged all members to please log in their hours and has made it easy to do on the AERC website. Since 2016 Monica Chapman has been in her Senator's office once a year and has built a relationship with government officials.

The following Regional reports were included in the Convention binders:

- Central- Monica Chapman, Gunnar Frank and Mike Maul
- Midwest- Connie Caudill
- Mountain- Jan Stevens
- Northeast- Dawn Hilliard
- Northwest- Naomi Preston
- West- Kelly Williams-Stehman.

The Regional Directors whose reports were not in the binder made oral presentations to the Board:

- Southeast- Vance Stine
- Pacific South- John Parke/Lisa Schneider
- Southwest- Stephanie Palmer-DuRoss

There were some good discussions during this time.

Mollie Krumlaw-Smith gave a presentation on the AERC Legacy Foundation (ALF). The ALF Board is currently made up of the three first tier members who were elected by the AERC board, Secretary/Treasurer Mollie Krumlaw-Smith, Chair John Parke and Mike Maul. They may add Board members as they see needed. The key goals of the foundation are;

- 1. To create an income-generating endowment fund with the earnings from the fund being allocated to key projects. We are currently working on building the corpus. Funds will be used for trails, education and research projects.
- 2. Accounts may also be set up for direct funding, meaning all of the funds donated may be used on the project. These would be shorter-term projects.

The intent is for these funds to be used for AERC's fundamental projects, and not fund operational costs. The endowment fund will reside within the Legacy Foundation. Once the fund reaches a reasonable level, monies will be invested by professional managers. The funds should not be used to buy land. The foundation should not be undermining donations to AERC.

Kathleen Henkel reported that Amazon Smile has announced they will not continue with that program which brought in extra funds to AERC.

Nick Kohut DVM announced that the Strategic Planning groups will have breakout sessions during the Sunday meeting.

Susan Kasemeyer moved to adjourn at 9:08 p.m., Lisa Schneider seconded. Motion passed.

Respectfully submitted by Connie Caudill