## **General Session Convention meeting 3/7/2020**

Monica Chapman called the meeting to order at 10:35 am.

Monica Chapman thanked out going Board members Marcia Hefker, Tonya Stroud-Oaks, Shawn Bowling and Troy Eckard, for their service. She welcomed newly elected Board members Susan Garlinghouse DVM, Chalice Coward and Stephanie Palmer-DuRoss.

Robert Ribley swore into office regional directors- Nick Kohut DVM, Monica Chapman, Lisa Schneider, Michael Campbell, Connie Caudill, Jan Stevens, Dawn Hilliard, Naomi Preston, John Parke, Jessica Cobbley, Vance Stine, Susan Kasemeyer, Andrew Gerhard, Susan Garlinghouse DVM, Chalice Coward and Stephanie Palmer-DuRoss.

Directors at Large Board members present were Mike Maul, Mollie Krumlaw-Smith. Bob Marshall DVM, Heather Reynolds, Christoph Schork and Tim Worden.

Absent were Gordie Cowan, Angie Mikkelson and Olin Balch DVM.

Stephanie Palmer DuRoss nominated Maribel Paulson to fill the SW Regional Director vacancy. Naomi Preston seconded. Motion passed.

Robert Ribley swore in Maribel Paulson as the newly appointed Southwest Regional Director. Monica Chapman welcomed her to the Board.

Monica Chapman then opened the nomination for Secretary. Susan Kasemeyer nominated the entire slate of officers for another term by acclamation. Seconded by Lisa Schneider. President Monica Chapman, Vice President Nick Kohut DVM, Treasurer Mollie Krumlaw-Smith and Secretary Connie Caudill were voted into office by the Board.

Monica Chapman gave a review the previous year. She explained that the Board has been working through the strategic plan which can be seen on the AERC website. She acknowledged that there had been a lot of work by Ride Managers, the Board and the AERC Office in retaining and gaining members and getting members in the saddle. Monica Chapman went on to explain SafeSport and the importance of it to AERC.

Monica Chapman thanked Robert and Melissa Ribley for their wonderful job in putting on a first class AERC National Championship ride and asked that members keep up the momentum by supporting the 2020 National Championship ride which will be managed by the Stevens' ride at Fort Howe's in Montana.

Monica Chapman reported that the Board will be working on revising and updating the AERC Bylaws. She asked members to remember AERC in their estate planning and support AERC through the new supporting organization- AERC Legacy Foundation.

Monica Chapman acknowledged and thanked the AERC Office staff; Kyra DeMartini, Troy Smith and Kathleen Henkel.

The floor was opened for comments or questions to the membership. To list a few of the comments; Doug Shearer DVM thanked AERC for the trail grant for the ross Florida Greenway Trail in Florida. Valerie Kanavy thanked AERC-I and the NE funds in support of the Young Riders Clinic. Nina Barnett

spoke about the 100 mile mentor program and the webinars. Vance Stine praised Christo Dinkelmann and Jane Lee for hosting the 100 mile mentor ride which had 21 first time 100 mile riders entered and 17 of them completed.

It was noted that Regional clubs and members were coming up with some awesome ideas on getting riders and making it happen. Stagg Newman said all horse industries are facing problems and we need to get the word out to the other disciplines that Endurance is for all ages and is a great cross training sport. Get articles into publications with photos when possible. Becky Pearman suggested that riders should support the professional photographers who work at rides- The AERC Photographers Guild. The SafeSport training was discussed, John Parke stated all members should take it as it covers several things such as bullying, cyber bullying, abuse and much more.

Monica Chapman concluded by saying; Endurance, we are friends and family, we are a tribe so let's be respectful of others on social media.

Jan Stevens made a motion to adjourn at 11:25 am, Naomi Preston seconded. Motion passed.

Respectfully submitted by Connie Caudill