AERC BOD meeting minutes 11/18/19

President Monica Chapman called the meeting to order at 9:05 pm.

Board members present were Michael Campbell, Monica Chapman, Connie Caudill, Angie Mikkelson, Jan Stevens, Tonya Stroud-Oaks, Dawn Hilliard, Nick Kohut DVM, Jessica Cobbley, Naomi Preston, John Parke, Lisa Schneider, Susan Kasemyer, Vance Stine, Shawn Bowling, Andrew Gerhard, Gordie Cowan, Mollie Krumlaw-Smith, Mike Maul, Heather Reynolds, Christoph Schork, and Tim Worden . Also present- Legal Committee representatives Lisanne Dorion, Barbara Baris and Protest and Grievance Committee Chair, Diane Rowley. Kyra DeMartini and Executive Director Kathleen Henkel were also in attendance.

Susan Kasemeyer made a motion to accept the revised agenda, seconded by Tonya Stroud-Oaks. Motion passed

Vance Stine made a motion to excuse Marcia Hefker-Miles and Troy Eckard due to recusal from the protest appeal, Bob Marshall DVM-out of country, and Olin Balch DVM- business meeting. Seconded by Tonya Stroud-Oaks. Motion passed

Kathleen Henkel presented the statistical report;

Membership as of 11/12/18 4	913
Membership as of 11/15/19 4	727
Sanction fees as of 11/15/18	\$ 14925.00
Sanction fees as of 11/15/19	\$ 14695.00
Rider fees as of 11/15/18	\$ 66955.00
Rider fees as of 11/15/19	\$ 69653.00
New members as of 11/12/18	612
New members as of 11/15/19	584

Susan Kasemeyer made a motion to approve the corrected minutes, seconded by Lisa Schneider. Motion passed.

Monica Chapman stated that the AERC National Championship Ride was a very positive experience and was happy to see so many of the Board members at the event. She thanked and complimented Melissa and Robert Ribley and the Valley Riders for putting on a great event. Monica Chapman encouraged the Board members to attend the 2020 AERC National Championship ride/Fort Howes to be held in June in Ashland, Montana. Ride managers will be Bill and Jan Stevens.

Mollie Krumlaw-Smith will be sending the financial statements to the Board members next week. She encouraged Board members to carefully read them and ask questions and welcomed comments in advance of the December meeting when the Board will be discussing and voting on the approval of the budget.

Connie Caudill presented from the Sanctioning Committee a pioneer ride for Board approval – Klickitat Trek Pioneer, 5/23, 24, 25, 2020 (Saturday, Sunday and Monday), a 50/25; 55/25 & 50/25. There will be an intro ride each day, Marilyn Milestone is the ride manager and the alternate is Leanne Studdard, with head vet Mike Foss. NW Sanctioning Director, Naomi Preston has given her approval along with the Sanctionng Committee. This is a long-standing ride but first time as a Pioneer Ride. Motion passed.

Monica Chapman and Lisane Dorion reviewed with the Board, the AERC procedures for handling the Blake Potter appeal of the Protest & Grievance Committee's decision against Stephanie Palmer-Duross's Bumble Bee Ride that was held on 4/13/19. All materials regarding this appeal were mailed to the board via U.S. Mail in September 2019.

Lisanne Dorion confirmed that proper notice was duly given to all parties. She noted the additional members on the call were Diane Rowley, chair of the Protest and Grievance Committee as well as Barbara Baris and herself as the Legal Committee representatives. Diane Rowley will be available to answer procedural and substantive questions. Lisanne Dorion explained the role of the Legal Committee was not to dispense advice or otherwise influence the process which is a responsibility of the Board but that they will be available as a resource for Best Practices. She stated that the two areas of comment before the board begins deliberations are-1) is procedural to preserve the record, and 2) is substantive regarding conflict of interest and recusal.

Lisanne Dorion stated- Pursuant to AERC Rule 14.5, Only materials to be reviewed in this meeting are materials that were submitted in the BOD packet that occurred prior to 9 August 2019. In fact, no information that has come to a BOD outside of the record P&G the Committee relied on can be considered in these deliberations

Monica Chapman continued with the appeal meeting. She reiterated that the appeal shall be based only upon the information contained in the record of the protest considered by the Protest and Grievance Committee. The statements of the parties in support of or in opposition to the appeal shall only comment on the record of the protest and shall not contain any new factual information. No additional witness statements or new factual information shall be considered by the members of the Board of Directors in deciding the appeal. The Board may seek an explanation of the Protest and Grievance Committee's decision from the Chairman of the Committee to respond to any points raised in support or in opposition to the appeal.

John Parke made a motion to deny the appeal and to deny protest for the reasons set forth in the P&G decision. Vance Stine seconded the motion.

Following a thorough discussion by the Board, Monica Chapman asked for the vote on the motion. The motion passed with 20 in favor and one abstention.

John Parke thanked Diane Rowley and the committee for their work on this decision. John Parke moved to adjourn at 9:35 pm, seconded by Vance Stine. Motion passed. Respectfully submitted by Connie Caudill