AERC National Convention General Session March 7, 2015

AERC President Michael Campbell called to order the AERC Board of Directors General Session Meeting at the National Convention on March 7, 2015, at 11:04 am PST.

Present at the meeting were current AERC BOD Members: Michael Campbell, Mollie Krumlaw- Smith, Monica Chapman, Connie Caudill, Nick Kohut, Susan Kasemeyer, Lisa Schneider, John Parke, Mike Maul, Susan Garlinghouse, Olin Balch, Randy Eiland, Bruce Weary, Terry Woolley Howe, Steph Teeter, Roger Taylor, Duane Barnett, Skip Kemerer, Kevin Waters, Andrew Gerhard, and Paul Latiolais.

Members not present: Julia Lynn-Elias, Peter Hommertzheim, Sue Keith, Leslie Anderson, and Forrest Tancer.

AERC President Michael Campbell thanked the AERC Office Staff and the Convention Staff they bring with them.

A State of AERC Endurance Speech was given by Michael Campbell. The AERC Facebook Page has over 9,000 members. The Green Bean/AERC 101 Clinics started by Patti Stedman has really taken off and increased membership in the NE Region. The new AERC Education Committee Chair Susan Garlinghouse has been traveling all over giving 101/201/Beyond the Basics Clinics. She has also been busy making AERC Video's with Ken and Julie Herrera for the AERC Youtube Channel. Candace Fitzgerald was introduced to the membership. She is the new AERC Marketing Professional. Other items passed in the last year in AERC is the funding of starting a new Supporting Organization, passing of the Horse Welfare Rules, creation of a new Strategic Plan, and a new AERC website soon to be released.

AERC BOD Member Susan Kasemeyer thanked all the AERC Officers for their hard work.

Robert Ribley, Elections Committee Chair, swore in the Directors at Large Members of the BOD. The members included: Mollie Krumlaw-Smith, Susan Garlinghouse, Olin Balch, Terry Woolley Howe, Mike Maul, Randy Eiland, Christoph Schork, Tom Bache, and new Regional Director Kevin Waters.

President Michael Campbell thanked outgoing BOD members Bruce Weary, Leslie Anderson, and Rusty Toth, for their service. He congratulated all the new members. Michael then called for the election of Officers to begin.

The motion to nominate Michael Campbell as President, Lisa Schneider as Vice-President, Mollie Krumlaw-Smith as Treasurer, and Susan Garlinghouse as Secretary, of AERC was made by Paul Latiolais. Terry Woolley Howe seconded the nomination. Terry Woolley Howe then made a motion to elect the whole slate. Connie Caudill seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

AERC President Michael Campbell opened the floor to the membership for questions or comments. Subjects brought forth to the BOD were.

What happened to the Fatality Reports? AERC should offer insurance to members to cover colic surgery or have some way to pool money together to cover surgery. Create chapters for members like Back Country Horseman of America. Create a marketing committee. Up our Ride Liability Insurance limit to help ride managers where the land managers require more insurance than what we presently have coverage for. Does strategic plan cover what to do about ride managers who are at risk for losing their rides or quitting? Market to AARP members with grandkids. Sanctioning Directors need to address rides with low completion rates. There were a lot of comments and discussion about ride distances, ride ratings, accurate mileage, difficulty of rides, handicapping, and time allowed for mileage.

The meeting adjourned at 12:42pm PST.

Submitted by Monica Chapman