AERC National Convention General Session March 8, 2014

AERC President Jan Stevens called to order the AERC Board of Directors General Session Meeting at the National Convention on March 8, 2014, at 11:44 am EST.

Present at the meeting were current AERC BOD Members: Jan Stevens, Michael Campbell, Mollie Krum-Law Smith, Monica Chapman, Connie Caudill, Nick Kohut, Susan Kasemeyer, Joe Schoech, Lisa Schneider, John Parke, Mike Maul, Susan Garlinghouse, Tom Bache, Olin Balch, Patti Stedman, Sue Keith, Randy Eiland, Bruce Weary, Terry Woolley Howe, Steph Teeter, Forrest Tancer, Julia Lynn-Elias, and Roger Taylor.

Members not present: Maryben Stover, Gail Williams, and Susie Schomburg.

Joe Schoech, outgoing Southeast Regional Director, took over duties from Robert Ribley, Elections Committee Chair, to swear in the new members of the BOD. The new members included: Skip Kemerer, Duane Barnett, Andrew Gerhard, Rusty Toth, Paul Latiolais, and Peter Hommertzheim.

President Jan Stevens thanked outgoing BOD members Joe Schoech, Patti Stedman, Gail Williams, Maryben Stover, and Susie Schomburg, for their service. Jan then called for the election of Officers to begin.

The motion to nominate Monica Chapman as Secretary of AERC was made by Mollie Krumlaw-Smith. Lisa Schneider seconded the nomination. Nick Kohut made the motion to close nominations. Monica Chapman was announced as Secretary for AERC.

The motion to nominate Mollie Krumlaw-Smith as Treasurer of AERC was made by Monica Chapman. Lisa Schneider seconded the nomination. Susan Kasemeyer made a motion to nominate Roger Taylor for Treasurer. Julia Lynn-Elias seconded the nomination. Nick Kohut made the motion to close nominations. After the ballots were counted it was announced that Mollie Krumlaw-Smith was elected AERC Treasurer.

The motion to nominate Lisa Schneider as Vice-President of AERC was made by Susan Garlinghouse. Susan Kasemeyer seconded the nomination. Olin Balch nominated Steph Teeter for Vice-President. Bruce Weary seconded the nomination. Steph Teeter declined the nomination. Bruce Weary made the motion to close nominations. Lisa Schneider was announced as Vice-President of AERC.

The motion to nominate Michael Campbell as President of AERC was made by Susan Garlinghouse. Lisa Schneider seconded the nomination. Steph Teeter nominated Tom Bache for President. Rusty Toth seconded the nomination. Skip Kemerer made the motion to close nominations. After the ballots were counted it was announced that Michael Campbell was elected AERC President.

Outgoing AERC President Jan Stevens thanked everyone on the BOD for the last year. She also thanked the AERC Office Staff for all their hard work. The Southeast Region also received a big thanks you for hosting a great convention.

The new officers were sworn in. New AERC President Michael Campbell thanked Jan Stevens for all her hard work as the previous president. He then opened the floor to the membership for questions or comments.

Ike Nelson, SERA President, wanted AERC to know that SERA had voted at an earlier membership meeting to support the relationship with USEF. SERA also wanted everyone to know how happy they were to host the convention in the Southeast.

Different topics brought up by members were to keep equine welfare issues at the forefront. How does a member handle a problem with a ride manager? Members need to be friendly and introduce new people at rides. AERC Brand is the AERC member. The importance of conducting the 101 Education Clinics. Safety issues at rides. The importance of the new rider meeting at rides. The creation of a regional organization arm of the Membership Committee. Veterinarians helping new riders with mentors. The Research Committee connecting with Vet Schools. Education and Research Committee partnering on presentation to vet schools.

Connie Caudill made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Roger Taylor seconded. The motion passed.

The meeting adjourned at 1:15pm EST.

Submitted by Monica Chapman