Board of Directors Meeting Minutes February 13, 2012 Conference Call

The February 13, 2012 AERC Board of Directors Conference Call meeting was called to order by President Connie Caudill at 6:02pm Pacific Time.

Present at the meeting were AERC Board Members: Connie Caudill, Laura Hayes, Jan Stevens, Michael Campbell, Monica Chapman, Sue Keith, Sandy Terp, Tom Noll, Gail Williams, Lisa Schneider, Susan Kasemeyer, Joe Schoech, Roger Taylor, Michael Maul, Maryben Stover, Susan Schomburg, Forrest Tancer, Kevin Meyers, John Parke, Susan Keil, Mollie Krumlaw-Smith, Leslie Anderson, and Olin Balch.

Members not present: Terry Woolley-Howe.

In addition, Patti Stedman and Nick Kohut (both to be sworn in at the 2012 AERC Annual Convention) were guests on the call along with Melissa Ribely and Jay Mero, both of the AERC Veterinary Committee.

The motion was made by Mollie Krumlaw-Smith to approve the agenda with Forrest Tancer seconding the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

The motion was made to excuse Terry Woolley-Howe from this meeting by Susan Kasemeyer and seconded by Gail Williams. The motion passed unanimously.

The minutes of the previous meeting will be submitted to the BOD for approval at the Annual Meeting.

The AERC Executive Director, Kathleen Henkel, then gave the report of the membership dated February 13, 2012

Membership Report February 13, 2012			
Membership as of	2/14/201 2/13/201	-	3859 3637
Rider fees as of 1/31/201 Rider fees as of 1/31/201	-	\$4,200 \$6,273	
Sanction fees as of Sanction fees as of		\$11,055 \$11,210	
New members New members	2/14/201 2/13/201	-	261 266

It was noted that the donation of the Rolloflex fencing package caused more renewals early on. It was Southeast member Debbie Buick that ultimately won the fence.

The AERC International Meeting minutes were then presented to the BOD with Mollie Krumlaw-Smith making the motion to accept them with Kevin Meyers seconding the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Several Special Sanctioning requests were presented to the BOD for their consideration. All have been approved by the Special Sanctioning Committee. They include:

Sangre Scenic Pioneer - MTN Region July 27-29, 2012 (Date Change from previous years) Moab Canyons Pioneer - MTN Region Oct 18-20, 2012 (Date Change from previous years) Elk Creek Pioneer - MTN Region Aug 31-Sept 2, 2012 (New Pioneer) Hallelujah Trail Pioneer - NW Region May 25-27, 2012 (Date Change from previous years) Oregon Outback Pioneer I - NW Region July 2-4, 2012 (New Pioneer/Date Change) Oregon Outback Pioneer II - NW Region July 6-8, 2012 (New Pioneer/Date Change) Quichipa Lake Ride - MTN Region Oct 6-8, 2012 (New Pioneer) Since this motion is coming from committee no second is required. The motion passed unanimously.

Discussion was then held concerning the renewal of the USEF Drug Testing contract for AERC. It was noted that the amount of funds paid to USEF is based n the number of rides and the number of tests done at each ride. The reserve that is currently held by AERC for drug testing is mainly there to help in case we had a legal issue involving drug testing. AERC understands that USEF is very willing to work with us on the numbers tested and willing to consider a different mix of the number of rides tested and the number of riders tested at these events. It is important to note that the expenses from drug testing need to equal the income. John Parke, as legal counsel and a BOD member for AERC, indicated that he would like to review and possibly revise the contract for drug testing using USEF if the BOD approved the motion to hire USEF to handle AERC's drug testing for 2012. Roger Taylor made the motion to hire USEF for the 2012 ride season for \$40,000 with Jan Stevens seconding the motion. The motion passed with one abstention.

AERC Treasurer, Mollie Krumlaw-Smith, gave a report on the current finances of AERC. She reported that the CPA report is nearly done and will be in the same format as in previous years. When it is completed Mollie will send a copy to the BOD.

With there being no further business before the AERC BOD the motion was made by John Parke to adjourn with Kevin Meyers seconding the motion. The motion passed unanimously at 7:28pm.

Submitted by Jan Stevens